Fairmilehead Community Council



The next meeting is on Tuesday 2 May 2017

Monthly Home Security Tip - Put away your garden tools after use. Do not leaving lying around

Beware - Housebreakers are operating in the area - Check your security

Click here for Crime Prevention Advice

Details of Winton East Planning Application

New Planning Applications and Proposals in Area - Click Here

 About Fairmilehead Community Council

Latest News






Neighbourhood Partnerships


Pentlands Neighbourhood Partnership


Facts and Figures


Planning Matters
Weekly Planning Applications and




Scottish Water


Youth Page


Consultations Page


Community Page


Office Bearers Elected


Standing Orders

Community Council Scheme


Map of Area


History of the Area
The Buckstane
The Caiystane

City of Edinburgh Natural Heritage Service

City of Edinburgh Council

 Edinburgh City Council - Community Councils Web Page

Community Council Web Sites

Other Links



Contact Us


Privacy Statement


Fairmilehead is on the southern outskirts of Edinburgh. The area of the Community Council stretches from the southern limits of the Braid Hills in the north, to the boundary between Edinburgh and Midlothian along the Pentland Hills in the south, and from the western boundary of Mortonhall Estate in the east to Dreghorn Link in the west. 

The area has a history extending back many hundreds of years and formerly comprised a lot of separate villages or hamlets on the periphery of Edinburgh. 

There are two private golf clubs, Mortonhall and Swanston, within the Council area and the two Braids municipal courses adjoin Mortonhall golf course. The artificial ski slope at Hillend is outwith the Council area as it lies within Midlothian. 

The Council area forms part of the Edinburgh South Constituency of the Westminster and Edinburgh Pentlands Constituency of the Scottish Parliament. It also comprises the Local Council Ward of Colinton/Fairmilehead.

The Member of Parliament for the Edinburgh South Constituency is Ian Murray MP (Labour) whilst Joanna Cherry QC MP (SNP) is the member for Edinburgh South West which covers the old  Swanston area. Members of the Scottish Parliament are Gordon MacDonald MSP (SNP) along with the 6 members for the Lothian Regional Constituency, Jeremy Balfour MSP (Conservative), Miles Briggs MSP (Con), Gordon Lindhurst   MSP (Con), Kezia Dugdale MSP (Labour), Neil Findlay (Lab), Alison Johnstone MSP (Green) and Andy Wightman MSP (Grn)

The Local Councillors for the Colinton/ Fairmilehead  multi-member Ward (Ward 8) are Elaine Aitken (Conservative), Richard Lewis (SNP) and Jason Rust (Conservative).

The Community Council is a youngster compared to some in the City having only been formed at the beginning of 2002.

It normally meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 7pm in Fairmilehead Parish Church, Frogston Road West, Edinburgh except for July and August.

Members of the public are welcome.






Copyright 2017 Fairmilehead Community Council.
Last Updated 24 April 2017